Saving Backwards

For detailed info about saving backwards or to earlier versions of Illustrator go Here

For detailed info about saving backwards or to earlier versions of inDesign, go Here

For detailed info about saving backwards of to earlier versions of PhotoShop, go Here


 

To save a CC file so that it will open in an earlier version of Illustrator on another computer (called back saving) do the following:

  1. “Save As” command
  2. Navigate to (locate) the place where you want the file to be saved (folder drive, etc) and hit the “Save” button at the bottom right of that screen.
  3. Be sure you are not replacing the CC version. You will want to keep both the CC version and the version you are now backsaving. So, either name the file differently or make sure both files are not in the same location. (a slightly different name is the best option).
  4. You will then see a second dialog box. At the very top of this dialog is a pull down menu where you can select which version of Illustrator you want the file to be compatible with. Press on the arrow on the right side of this pull down menu (it will say Illustrator CC) and it will reveal the entire menu.
  5. Select Illustrator CS6 or earlier to complete the back save.
  6. Click OK at the bottom right.
  7. A warning box will appear saying that you are saving to a Legacy (older) version of Illustrator and that some features of your design may change. This is normal and one of the hazards of going back and forth between two different version of a program. So, if possible always work on a design in the same version of a program if you plan on transferring back and forth between two computers. If you can’t do this, be sure to always keep both the original CC file as well as any back saved versions. I strongly suggest you give this file a different name (add version number to the name) than your original CC Illustrator version so that you are sure to retain all of the information created in the original file.